Imoke candidate lost as Ayade, Udom rallies round Wike to produce Secondus at PDP Convention

Senator Liyel Imoke, former Governor of Cross River State (2nd Right)

Frustration at the 2017 Peoples Democratic Party, PDP National Elective Convention deepens after former Governor of Cross River State, Senator Liyel Imoke’s alleged attempt at frustrating Wike’s Secondus at the just concluded National Convention met a brick wall.

The former Senator according to TNN was said to clandestine a meeting with stakeholders from the West to rally support for former colleague, Gbenga Daniel, despite initially assuring Hon. Nyesom Wike, Governor of Rivers State and the PDP Governors his determination to support their joint course.

Meanwhile, the Governor of Cross River State, Senator Ben Ayade and that of Akwa Ibom State, Mr. Udom Emmanuel, did rallied round Wike to produce Prince Uche Secondus as the party National chairman.

Currently, reports according to TNN says, Imoke is shamefaced and disillusioned, and contemplating leaving the Party but not for the All Progressives Congress, APC.

Read Also: Donald Duke attends #PDPConvention2017 (Photo)

The report further said, “Information from his cousin who pleads anonymity said Imoke hinted of a mega party in the offing. A lot of people feel that is the reason why up till now he hasn’t congratulated Secondus.”

The chairman on the other side has equally shown disdain for the backstabbing nature of Imoke who had earlier assured him of his support.

The begging question now is; how influential would Imoke be in the PDP now? Time would tell…


Below are the names of WINNERS of the PDP National Elective Convention held on the 9th of December, 2017 at Eagle Square Abuja, Nigeria.

1. National Chairman – Prince Uche Secondus

2. National Deputy Chairman South – Elder Yemi Akinwonmi

3. National Deputy Chairman North – Sen. Gamawa Babawo Garba

4. National Secretary – Sen. Ibrahim Tsauri

5. Deputy National Secretary – Dr. Agbo Emmanuel

6. National Treasurer – Hon. Aribisala Adewale

7. Deputy National Treasurer – Alh. Wada Masu

8. Financial Secretary – Ibrahim Husseini Maibasira

9. Dep. Fin. Sec. – Hon. Irona Alphonsus

10. Nat. Org. Sec. – Col (Rtr) Austin Akobundu

11. Dep. Nat. Org. Sec. – Barr. Hassan Yakubu

12. Publicity Secretary – Kola Ologbondiyan

13. Dep. Nat. Pub. Sec. – Hon. Diran Odeyemi

14. Nat. Legal Adviser – Barr. Emmanuel Enoidem

15. Dep. Nat. Legal Adviser – Barr. Ahmed Bello Liman

16. Nat. Auditor – Mal. Adamu Mustapha

17. Dep. Nat. Auditor – Miss Divine Amina Arong

18. Nat. Women Leader – Haj. Mariya Waziri

19. Dep. Nat. Women Leader – Umoru Adizet Hadizat

20. Nat. Youth Leader – Rt. Hon. Udeh Okoye

21. Dep. Nat. Youth Leader – Umar Babangida Maina

Subscribe to Calabar Reporters News Headlines on WhatsApp: To subscribe, please add us using the following number: 07031893780 or +234 703 189 3780. After adding, just send us a message using the format: 'I Want To Receive Daily News'. And we'll add you up as well as be sending you daily Headlines of News from Cross River State and the entire South-South Nigeria. Please share with others. Thank you and God bless you.

Related Articles

About Admin 5311 Articles
We are the Home for the latest and breaking news in Cross River State and the entire South-South Nigeria. We report everything around you!